Blogging is Dangerous

I get the irony here.  I’m blogging about why people shouldn’t blog.  But here are my reasons behind this blog, and below is my fear about this blog.

The inherent motivation behind blogging is to make a name for one’s self. This is a dangerous game.  Making a name for one’s self was the underlying sin behind the Tower of Babel episode in Genesis 11.

“Then they said, ‘Come, let us build ourselves a city and a tower with its top in the heavens, and let us make a name for ourselves…'”

-Genesis 11:4

This is the reason why I’m afraid to blog.  I don’t want to fall into the trap of seeking to make a name for myself, seeking to make my own name great.

“I am not yet weaned from all created glory,
honour, wisdom, and esteem of others,
for I have a secret motive to eye my name in all I do.

-The Valley of Vision, page 126

Because of the ever-present danger of seeking to glorify myself in all that I do, this is my prayer:

“There is no treasure so wonderful
as that continuous experience of thy grace
toward me which alone can subdue
the risings of sin within:
Give me more of it.”

-The Valley of Vision, page 127

May everything I do be for the praise of Jesus’ name.  Through the gospel, God has shown me, a sinner, immeasurable grace.  May that truth be evident in all that I do… even blogging.  I’ll throw in the towel the minute this becomes about making a name for myself.

